TalentEgg, etc.

23 05 2008

I just came across this excellent site called TalentEgg, (saw an ad for it on Facebook actually) that’s specifically geared toward Canadian university students and recent graduates and helping them find solid entry-level jobs. It appears to be based in Toronto. Talk about your useful service. Awesome!

Not much else to report. Life goes on as usual. Work keeps me reasonably busy, although I have a bunch of days off starting this Saturday. Hurray! I’m also making my way through a computer science course that I’m taking through distance ed. Word on the street was it’s something of a bird course, but I’ve been pleasantly surprised with it. All the content is stuff I’m at least a little familiar with. While some chapters are dead easy, (such as “Hardware: The Components that Make up a Computer”) there are a couple of assignments that are going to push me to learn skills that I wasn’t quite motivated enough to learn on my own – namely CSS, and how to create a database in Microsoft Access. (Hopefully it’ll be a solid stepping stone to more valuable applications like MySQL, which I tried to run tonight for about half an hour before giving up.)

I’ve also got this ongoing project involving some significant improvements to my room. Chiefly this involves replacing some furniture and rearranging things to be more space-efficient. Eventually I’ll probably be repainting as well. I plan to make an exciting purchase this coming Saturday, which I’ll officially announce when it happens.

Every wednesday night for the past few weeks I’ve been attending dance classes at Hammer Hoppers with Sarah. The style is Lindy Hop, which is a breed of Swing, and far more relaxed and social than the ballroom dancing Sarah and I did back in high school. I enjoy it quite a bit, and like to think I’ve got a flare for it – hope to continue in some form after these lessons end. It’s a great crowd as well, so I’ve been lucky enough to start developing a bunch of awesome new friends on top of everything else.

Finally, the excellent combination of my first paycheque tomorrow at midnight and my income tax return, courtesy of the powers that be, means that I’m about to have some spending money at my disposal for the first time since last summer. Needless to say, this is very good.

Actions

Information

One response

2 03 2009
Lauren Friese

Hello!

I just wanted to say thanks for the comments on TalentEgg! We’d love to have you write a guest post on our new section of the site – The Incubator. Let me know if you’d be interested!

Lauren

Leave a Reply

